tanzania elections winner

John Pombe Magufuli Declared winner in Tanzania Presidential Election for a Second Term

President John Pombe Magufuli has been re-elected for the second term as the winner of presidential polls held on Wednesday 28th, October.


The announcement was made by the National Electoral Commission chairman Semistocles Kaijage in Dar es Salaam.

According to Tanzania’s National Electoral Commission, Magufuli garnered 12, 516, 252 votes followed by Tundu Lissu with 1, 933, 271 votes.

The Chairman of NEC is expected to award President Pombe Magufuli the winners certificate on Sunday, November 1st in Dodoma, at the National Electoral Commission headquarters.

However, lead opposition leader Tundu Lissu has rejected the vote alleging of widespread irregularities and has sought for peaceful demonstrations. Tundu Lissu asserts that several election observers were turned away from polling stations on the Election Day.

As Lissu asserts of credible Election irregularities, there is no room for appealing for a re-run of the elections.  According to Section 41 (7) of the Tanzanian Constitution, no court of law shall have any jurisdiction to inquire into an election of a presidential candidate once a candidate has been declared by the electoral commission to have been duly elected.

Do you have any Breaking News or Story you would like to be published on thefrankworld.com? WhatsApp us on +254 717 817 811 OR (Click Here) now!!

en English